How to Become a Morning Person

My roommate will tell you that there were many days when I was stumbling out of my bedroom around noon during this last year. I would have never thought I could become a morning person. Unless you call 11am the morning…?
 
I had been using all the excuses in the book to skip workouts in the Spring (homework…drinks with friends….the bachelor? ;-))
 
I finally realized that I feel so much better when I get my workouts done early. I had to find some ways to help myself become a “morning person” (i don’t workout every morning… more like 4-5 days a week)
 

 
Tips:
 
1. Go to bed earlier This is definitely the most helpful for me. I realized that the reason I couldn’t get up early wasn’t because I wasn’t a “natural” morning person, but that I wasn’t getting enough hours of sleep. I generally try to go to bed by 11pm if I’m getting up at 6:15 instead of 7:45.
 
2. Make a Plan If I have a specific training goal set up for the next morning, I’m less likely to skip it. If I just had a goal of working out, I’d be more likely to put it off. Choose a mileage goal/exercise goal and stick to it!
 
3. JUMP out of bed If I let myself lay there, I will talk myself out of getting up. It’s too cold, too hot…I’ll dig for any excuse. If I just jump out of bed, I’m more energized to go workout.
 
4. Sometimes you have to sleep in There are some days when I just can’t do it. I have a long long day of work and things to do after work, or I stayed up all night watching reruns of the Golden girls…. Sometimes I do have to give in and take a day off. As long as it’s not a habit!
 
Hope these helped anyone trying to become a morning exerciser. I find running to be the easiest morning workout because i don’t need to take time going to the gym. My beauty rest is precious 😉

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “How to Become a Morning Person

  1. I’m so not a morning person during the week, but unfortunately, on weekends when I have a chance to sleep in, my sorry bum is awake at 7 or 8 oclock! Such a bummer – maybe your tips will help me channel that energy into the workweek!

Leave a Reply

