Weekend Recap


Happy Fourth of July!
 

 
I’m still trying to get my butt moving at 1:30pm to do something fun with this day. It’s just too darn hot!
 
Yesterday I started my day at 7am, with a subway ride up to Central Park. I was armed with a bottle of water, a fruit leather, my ipod, the garmin and my keys. The Garmin got a signal and I hit the ground running. I had a goal of doing 8 miles. My secret goal was to maintain an 8:45 pace too ;-).
 
I had a new tactic for avoiding mental exhaustion. (8 miles isn’t THAT far, but I’ve never run more than 7 miles in my whole life so it’s new territory for me!). I segmented the run into four 2 mile runs. Having mini goals and a reward (ie: eating the fruit leather at mile 4) really helped. Instead of being overwhelmed by EIGHT, I just kept saying… only 2 more!
 
I ran 8.00 miles in 68:33, for an average pace of 8:34 (!!)
 
Mile breakdown:
Mile 1: 8:29
Mile 2: 8:35
Mile 3: 8:35
Mile 4: 8:46
Mile 5: 8:37
Mile 6: 8:31
Mile 7: 8:34
Mile 8: 8:29
 
I did a pretty good job pacing myself, but I finally came across a guy around mile 6 that I used to pace myself for about 2 miles. He pushed me as I tried to stay with him, but eventually he slowed down to over a 9 minute mile, so I had to push myself for the last mile.
 
I’m actually very happy with the time. I did take a break at mile 4 where I stopped the watch for about 20-30 seconds while I inhaled a fruit leather and some water.
&nsbp;
I took the bus home from the park.. but had Horrible cramps on the 1 mile walk home from the bus stop. I’m not sure what brought these on. I suspect that it was from loss of electrolytes or sodium? I might bring something other than water for my next long run.
 
I made a fruit smoothie right away because I was starving.
 

 
It had frozen mixed berries, a banana, soy milk and 1/2 scoop of protein powder.
 

&nsbp;
Refreshing… but I also tore into about 600 calories worth of carbs after 😉 haha whoopsies!
 

 
I had work at 5pm last night, which was so boring since everyone is away for the holiday weekend.
 
This morning I slept in a bit and started the day with some cheerios with strawberries on top. My favorite breakfast!
 

 
Now I’m just doing some cleaning and off to figure out how to celebrate the 4th! (And to look at an apartment with my roommates at 4pm. wish us luck!)

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Weekend Recap

  1. Wowza, amazing pace! Good for you girl!

Leave a Reply

