Central Park Long Run


Today I got up early and took the subway up to Central Park. I didn’t realize the Achilles Hope & Possibility 5 mile race was starting at 8:30, so I couldn’t run the outside loop. It was fine, because I ran through the paths and was happy to run a few laps around the reservoir!
 
It was very inspiring to see all these people running for such a good cause. There were many handicapped participants, and they were kicking butt!
 

From the event page
 
I planned to run 7 miles, but after the first 2 miles, I didn’t think I was going to make it to even 4 miles. I’m glad I made myself continue because I did just fine! My pace was just 3 seconds off from my 6 mile run 2 weeks ago. I think I’m going to start adding 1 mile each week for a long run. I’ll be a distance runner in no time! šŸ˜‰
 
My splits were:
Mile 1: 8:21
Mile 2: 8:31
Mile 3: 9:39 (Stopped to buy water and eat fruit leather and let timer run)
Mile 4: 8:37
Mile 5: 8:42
Mile 6: 8:48
Mile 7: 8:34
 
Total time: 1:01:12 (61 minutes, 12 seconds)
average pace: 8:44
 
I’m happy with how it went! I definitely needed the water.. but I HATE running with water in my hand. It hurts my shoulders and I know it slows me down a little. Camelback in my future maybe?
 
Running along the reservoir left me a little… dirty. My shoes are covered in dirt and… so are my legs. Yuck! Overall, I definitely prefer that location to the park by my aparment. It’s much nicer, just so far away.
 

 
I took the bus home (haha sorry other riders!) and had a gigantic piece of naan. I was starving!
 

 
I also had some chocolate covered almonds.
&nsbp;

 
I also made pasta with soy cheese and I’m still starving.. I guess burning 650 calories will do that to ya!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Central Park Long Run

  1. Bianca

    You go girl! I am working on my speed so I can tag along one of these days.

Leave a Reply

