Mental Strength

I slept in a bit and got up today at 9:30. I was planning to do a 6 mile run this morning. I realized that it was a longer run than normal, so I had a pre-workout meal. I had a half of a garlic bagel with a schmear of earth balance.
 

 
Around mile 3 I was regretting that decision… note to self: don’t have a garlic bagel pre-run hahah.
 
I really wanted to do a 6 mile run, but around mile 3 I was getting pretty drained. At miles 4 and 5 I had mini mental breakdowns. I was begging myself to stop and just give up. I decided to just keep going, and I finally told myself: You’re going to finish this, even if you have to run at a 12 minute mile to do it. I ended up doing better than I would have guessed.
 
I finished the sweaty/sunny/hot 6 mile run in 52:04. (8:40 pace) I feel awesome about it, since my goal was to do it in under 57 minutes.
 

 
I got home exhausted (physically and mentally). I quickly stretched, downed some water and took a cold shower.
 
I read some blogs and Graduate Meghann inspired me to make a post-run smoothie!
 

 
Mine had 1 banana, 1/2 scoop of GNC soy protein powder, 1 Tbsp peanut butter, and 1/2 cup vanilla soy milk.
 

 

 
Now I’m just relaxing with some blogs and going to start cleaning my room and bathroom. Exciting day 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

